Middleton: Paradise Regained – a personal journey begins


Sat next to my desk on a gloomy Wednesday morning I realise it’s almost EXACTLY two months since I started my new job as the Outreach, Education and Volunteer Officer for the exciting, diverse and slightly terrifying (terrifying to me, on account of its scale) project to reinstate the late 18th / early 19th Century water park created by Sir William Paxton on the Middleton Estate, the area now owned and covered by the National Botanic Garden of Wales.

A painting of the Great Lake at the Middleton Estate by Thomas Hornor

A painting of the Great Lake at the Middleton Estate by Thomas Hornor

We are already working with volunteers (thank you all!) and I’m currently in the middle of setting up our project specific e-newsletter. Speaking of which, if you fancy signing up to it, please follow this link – newsletter sign up – and we’ll keep you up to date with all that is going on as part of this exciting restoration!

For me this project will be a learning curve, from setting up databases through developing activity plans for volunteers and for interested public and to delivering workshops and events. So far this has been a varied job, and I can tell that over the next 15 months of the initial Development Stage of the project I will get to learn a lot more, and will have the opportunity to use the skills I already have.

Carmarthenshire Archaeology Day

Carmarthenshire Archaeology Day

We’ve spent a couple of days raising awareness of the project, one day at the National Botanic Garden itself on St David’s Day (March 1st) and another at Carmarthenshire Archaeology Day (organised by Dyfed Archaeological Trust), and I’m sure there will be many more to come, so look out for us when you’re out and about.

All in all, I LOVE THIS JOB.

I’ll be posting on here more regularly now, I hope (though I do believe I may have been saying that since I started writing this blog…).

Leave a Reply

