#BlogArch Number Three – The Best Bits


So this is my third article in the ‘BlogArch’ series of posts written in conjunction with Doug’s Archaeology’s blogging carnival! If you haven’t read anything about this yet please click here for a background to the project or click here for my previous #BlogArch posts.

In a vain attempt to write something slightly more in-depth this month (prior months’ posts having been slightly rushed and therefore lacking in intelligent content) I have started writing at the start of the allocated month rather than leaving it until the last-minute!

So, for January’s blogging, Doug has tasked us with writing about our most successful posts and has invited us to discuss why these posts might have been so successful.

Again I feel the need to mention the obvious correlation between the number of articles I post and the number of views my blog receives; simply, the more things I post, the more views my blog will get. Considering I have my blog linked to my Facebook page, and that Facebook page linked to my Twitter account, it is not surprising that more posts equal more views.

So, to have a brief gander at my stats, I can see that my all time views are encroaching on 8,800 and that the most views I’ve received on one day was 300.

stats

Clicking on the ‘Best ever 300 views’ part leads me to a page which informs me that this ‘best ever’ day was March 15th 2013 – right in the middle of some fieldwork I was undertaking with the Brecon Beacons National Park and The Dyfed Archaeological Trust. The CALCH project has been gaining public interest steadily over the course of the project and once people found my blog posts about last year’s fieldwork they continued to look and viewing figures kept increasing – again backing up the theory that more posts equal more views. I also had help from a friend who has many Facebook ‘likes’ and links posted on the Dyfed Archaeological Trust website certainly added to the catchment area!

The other interesting point is the search terms box on the statistics page. Evidently people have come along to various walking tours on sites (CALCH, Carn Goch) and have searched for these places online afterwards – proof that blogs do show up in search engines sometimes!

stats

Another point that makes itself obvious is that the more one promotes one’s blog the more people will look at it. The web of promotional tools available during my work on the CALCH project certainly helped gather interest and direct interested people towards my blog.

stats

The thing I have noticed, however, is that my more successful blog entries have been those which include a joke in the title (this may purely be me imagining things – I have a terribly feeling it is only me who finds my jokes funny…). But I do think that if you put a pun in a title, aim for a fantastic (subjective, I know) play on words or apply awe-inspiring alliterative accents to your articles, people will find your blogs easy to read and will remember what you’ve said. Although, thinking about it, this may just be a vain hope that my blog has indeed become vaguely successful…!

3 thoughts on “#BlogArch Number Three – The Best Bits

  1. Kelly M

    I’ve found that lists and headlines with numbers in them are very popular with my readers. And yes, I agree that sharing articles on Twitter, Facebook and other social media sites are excellent ways to boost your view count…just as long as you avoid looking like a spammer (there’s a fine line between harmless self-promotion and spamming). :)

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Blogging Archaeology #BlogArch – All of the Responses to the best and worst posts | Doug's Archaeology

  3. HSP Post author

    Aha! Perhaps one day I should start doing lists. I could start local and expand I suppose! And take pretty pictures :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

